Research stay in Europe

Some busy  weeks are laying ahead. I will be in Europe to work in the Archives in Austria and England again.

IMG_1424

My workspace at SPRI in 2013

I give a talk on my research at the Austrian Society of History of Science (Oesterreichische Gesellschaft fuer Wissenschaftsgeschichte) at 16th April at 6pm (Vienna University Archive, Postgasse 9, 1010 Wien). I have been invited for a talk after I gave a talk in June last year at the Institute for Austrian History (Institut fuer Oesterreichkunde, IOEK).

The next step: I will spend some time in Cambridge again in the Archives at the Scott Polar Research Institute (SPRI) to do research on Nimrod Expedition 1907 – 1909 especially on the diaries and meteorological logs of the Ross Sea Party.  This is a part of my COMNAP Research Fellowship project which started in 2012/13. In the meantime I gave 10 talks on the development on that project, had 3 poster presentations and 6 publications in journals and webpages.

In May I attend a workshop in Colorado: SCAR History Expert Group and the SCAR Social Science Action Group. I will give an oral presentation on the development of an digital platform where information can be exchanged on the whereabouts of diaries and documents of Polar expeditions. The idea has been discussed at the SCAR Open Science Conference last year. (see report) The platform is in the early state of its development, but at least it is a start.

331

Me, teaching Antarctic History in the “Discovery Hut” at Hut Point, Antarctic December 2014.

Leave a Reply

