Back from the Antarctic

SONY DSC

Open sea on the way to Antarctica

It is now one month that we have been to the Antarctic. New impressions shaped my picture of Antarctica. But now is time to concentrate on writing and the “normal” work again.

I will submit another Marsden Fast Start proposal and work already on that.

I have started to work as part time employed subcontractor for NIWA for the National Science Challenge. I assess logbooks and have to catalog them for the weather modeling system which is a focus from that project. Logbooks are a valuable source of information on social conditions on board and data such as weather conditions. The material I have to work with are logbooks which were traveling to Australia and New Zealand. I started with the systematic search for data and learned already a vast amount about ships, what happened in the colonies and many more details. The first set of data is dated from the 1840s on.

Another work I will finish soon is a book chapter for the Routledge handbook for Polar Regions. I wrote in a former post about it, but I am close to finish the first draft. Exploring and mapping Antarctica is the theme of my chapter. It is exciting to work on that and it will bring new insight into the history of Antarctic exploration.

SONY DSC

Crater Hill in the Antarctic with a wind turbine for Scott Base

Leave a Reply

