Hillmorton High School

Last Tuesday, 2 May, I was invited by Hannah Ewingh (the science teacher) to give a lecture about “Adaptation to extreme environments”. The students (16-17 years old) have to work on a project with the same title. I discussed with them the term “adaptation” and what an extreme environment is. The items (jackets, boots, etc.) I had with me again were a great help to show them how we adapt today to the Antarctic conditions when we are down in the ice. I has slides prepared what helps to keep the flow in the presentation but I integrated the students as well. 17 years working as teacher is then in the blood – so it was really nice to work as teacher again – at least for two hours. I don’t miss the administration involved in the school machinery but I like the work with the young people. But it is always easier to come from outside than being their teacher – it is easier to do it that way as I did last Tuesday.

CaptureHilmorton

 

Leave a Reply

