Submission for Marsden 2021 and STCW training and much more

On 17 February, a month ago, I submitted the Marsden application. At the same day I mad my way to Nelson for the STCW (Standards of Training, Certification and Watch keeping for Seafarers) training for my ship work with Silversea.

The Marsden application took a lot of time, meetings, consideration, etc. etc. but in the end, we put together a solid programme. The question is now, if we (my team and I) will make it ot a full proposal, speak that we get into the second round. In May/June we will know it then.

The STCW training haunts me since half a year, but now it is over and done. It was a very intense course over seven days and I had to stay in Nelson over the weekend – so I was away for nine days. In times of teaching, tutorials and the start of the semester in general made this stay a bit of tense time wise. The training was on First Aid for Maritime work, fire training, and personal and ship security and survival training.

That is me after the last training session. It was not my preferred training because of heavy lifting, bulky clothing and the darkness in the container. However, it made it and it is done and dusted.

Before I left for Nelson, I took on two tutorials in medieval history, 100 level, and it seems that was a last minute decision from the History department to ask me if I would do it. The semester started on 22 February, that was the in the middle of my STCW course.

On 2 and 9 March, I gave lectures on Antarctic history for the U3A (University of the third Age) in Avonhead. At the same time, starting with 8 March, I gave five lectures for ANTA 102 in Antarctic History and one tutorial (Monday to Wednesday, ending with 17 March). It was very intense but I love teaching.

On the top of all that, I got the chance to get a place in the ServiceIQ for a Museums course, which consists of seven modules. I submitted one assignments (many pages handwritten) before I left to Nelsen and one after I came back. Currently, I work on the third assignment.

All these events happened in the last two months and that was the reason for my silence so far.

Leave a comment