What to do when you do not agree?

In April 2021, an article in Polar Geography was published about tourism and heritage in Antarctica. With the pandemic, many things have changed in tourism but the work and values on heritage are still the same.

In this article, I am in the acknowledgments; however, I am not associated with its content or share the stated views in it. On the contrary, my views on heritage are the opposite than discussed in the article. As a polar historian, polar heritage is strongly linked with my work as researcher and lecturer. So this acknowledgment came as a worrying surprise. Although, I have been asked in 2019 if I would take photos from visitor books at historic sites in the Antarctic, but our company did not visit any sites where visitor books could have been, so there was not even a contribution on that behalf to this paper.

Before the article was published, I have not been contacted once to get familiar with the content and have not been asked for an agreement to be put in the acknowledgments. It shows a poor academic practice on the authors’ behalf to proceed like that. I cannot make this issue vanish but I do not coincide with my name in the acknowledgments.

Picture taken by myself in the Discovery Hut in January 2015. This is an important part of each expedition, especially in the field, until today: cooking appliances.

Leave a comment